A Dry Season

Accademia Gallery, Florence

Accademia Gallery, Florence

May 1, 2013

What can I say? It’s been a long, dry season for me as far as poetry is concerned. I’ve been praying about it, but I find that the topics I feel I can write about are either ones I’ve already written about many times or ones that are so deep I don’t know if I can express them adequately.

Oddly enough, through personal physical and emotional healing, I find it harder to immerse myself in emotions. And there’s been nothing truly inspiring lately… only the everyday cycle of work (and I write for work, which makes it hard to write when I’m off work), home, simple times with friends, exercise, sleep.

I am working on a sonnet about getting separated from my tour group in Florence last year, and here’s hoping it takes shape.

Until then, patience and prayers.

Leave a Reply

